LBJ Racing – RoboPong 200

Robopong-200Levon Bates Jr. (14) along with Dillon Brock (16) and Elizabeth Runyan (15) teamed up to assault the RoboPong 200, a 200 mile endurance race, held at America’s premier karting facility, New Castle Motorsports Park, this past weekend. LBJ Racing is sponsored in part by Janet Theriac and Dr. Rebecca Anderson, founder of Anderson Clinic in Indianapolis, Indiana.

Ninety-four teams entered the event competing for 70 starting spots. Fifty teams advanced to the feature through qualifying on Saturday afternoon, with an additional 20 teams that would make the race from a 75 lap Last Chance Qualifier race later that day.

After struggling through Friday and Saturday’s practice sessions, looking for more speed, Team LBJ qualified out of the top 50, a disappointing 75th. Saturday afternoon, in the Last Chance Qualifier, Team LBJ started 25th. During the LCQ, Team LBJ steadily picked up positions and were as high in the field as ninth before a broken throttle cable mid-race nearly dashed their chances for a starting spot in the 200. Through the efforts of the pit crew, the cable was quickly repaired. Upon re-entry, not to be denied, Team LBJ finished a miraculous 19th. They had made the show!

Entered in this year’s RoboPong 200 were several professional drivers like Vitor Meira, Mark Dismore Sr., Dan Wheldon, Scott Dixon and Brian Gerster to mention a few.

Sunday morning, preparations continue, expectations high, details being sorted out, pit schedules decided, team meetings, last minute pep talks and finally its go time!

Starting 69th, it’s a long way to the front and quite intimidating, but one of the youngest teams in the field showed a lot of heart and determination by steadily charging forward, picking up position after position and finished in the money, at a very respectable 17th. They also received the Best Improved Position Award by advancing 52 spots. “We were very fortunate to not have any mechanical failures. I’m really proud of the kids, they did a great job today,” stated Janet Theriac, Levon’s Grand Mother.

A big thank you to Janet Theriac and Dr. Rebecca Anderson for their support and Scott Hamble from 2ndIInone Racing for all his hard work and advice. Also a big thank you to Don Hudson, Mark Brock, Dennis Runyan, Chris Kruse and Miranda Stoner all of who played a big part in the outcome. A Special thanks goes out to the crew at New Castle Motorsports Park and Mark Dismore Sr. for providing us all with a world class venue and a very exciting event. What a place!


By levonbjr • May 7, 2010 • 8:42 pm • Leave a comment

LBJ: Linton Rotary Club Lucas Oil Company Grand Prix

The annual Linton Rotary Club Lucas Oil Company Grand Prix provided a roar over Humphreys Park on Saturday and Sunday.


The races are part of the Indy Kart Series and attracted races from throughout the state.

Sunday afternoon featured highly competitive races from the Indy Cart Series. Some of the larger unlimited karts topped speeds of 100 miles per hour around the paved track around the park.

See a photo gallery at… for coverage of the event.

The Lucas Oil Indy Karting Series “Linton Grand Prix” race results:

Yamaha Jr. Super Can — 1st Bill McLaughlin Jr., 2nd Levon Bates, 3rd Elizabeth Runyan

Yamaha Sr. Masters — 1st Gary Monnett, 2nd Bill Evans, 3rd Scott Ferguson

Yamaha Sr. Medium — 1st Mike Larrison, 2nd Dylan Brock, 3rd Mike Burrell

Yamaha / HPV Pipe — 1st Tim Cooper, 2nd Alex Angel, 3rd John Dixon

Tag Lite — 1st Alex Angle, 2nd Mike Larrison, 3rd Jamie Ferrell

Yamaha Sr. Heavy — 1st Gary Monnett, 2nd Mike Larrison, 3rd Mike Burrell

Tag Heavy — 1st Jason Lee, 2nd Scott Hamble, 3rd Kent Schonberger

Shifter — 1st Jason Lee, 2nd Bill McLaughlin Jr., 3rd Scott Hamble

Junior 2 and 4 Cycle — 1st William Woodard, 2nd Drake Woodard, 3rd Caleb Patterson — Taylor

F200 Briggs Lite — 1st Austin King, 2nd Mike Hayes, 3rd Garrett Powell

F200 Briggs Masters — 1st Joe King Jr, 2nd Jeff King

F200 Briggs Heavy — 1st Mike Hayes, 2nd Austin King, 3rd Joe King Jr.

Briggs Junior — 1st Cody Johnson, 2nd Valerie Killen

Local Option Heavy — 1st Scott Booker, 2nd Josh Ellott, 3rd Troy Johnson

Local Option Lite — 1st Scott Booker, 2nd Josh Ellott, 3rd Chris Bave


By levonbjr • May 2, 2010 • 8:44 pm • Leave a comment